Monday, October 27, 2008

PST names Energy Advocate Award winners

Elected officials came through for the region

man_on_mountain_top Idaho Falls, ID. October 27, 2008 – The Partnership for Science and Technology (PST) announced the winners of the first annual PST Energy Advocate Awards.

The awards are presented to individuals or organizations that were central to a noteworthy achievement in nuclear energy, non-nuclear energy or an environmental field that is of interest to PST and its membership.

All of the winners are elected officials. In an era when the political process is under intense pressure from all sides, it is remarkable how much a few leaders in Idaho were able to accomplish working at the state, regional, and local level as well as in Washington, DC.

2008 PST Energy Advocate Award Winners

National Award: Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM). Accepting the award will be J. Russell Dyer, Ph.D. Chief Scientist. OCRWM was selected for the award based on the submission to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission of the license application for the Yucca Mountain nuclear waste repository.

Regional Award: C.L. “Butch” Otter, Governor, State of Idaho. Governor Otter was selected for the award based on his work securing needed funding for the Center for Advanced Energy Studies facility, his role in negotiating an agreement to settle the long-standing lawsuit over the INL/DOE Settlement Agreement, as well as his leadership in the recruitment of AREVA to Idaho and his continued support for the Idaho National Laboratory and nuclear energy.

Local Award: Jared Fuhriman, Mayor, City of Idaho Falls. Mayor Fuhriman was selected for the award for his leadership in support of the INL, GNEP, and AREVA recruitment as well as his leadership with energy-linked economic development and promoting energy efficiency/green power initiatives.

Nuclear Energy Advocate Award: Congressman Mike Simpson, Congressman Simpson was selected for this special award based on his tireless and effective advocacy for sound national energy policy and for the research and cleanup programs at the INL. He has worked closely with House Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee members and staff in both parties in a way that has made him one of the most respected and influential members of Congress.

The awards will be presented at the Annual PST Awards Banquet to be held on November 5, at the Red Lion in Idaho Falls. Contact PST at (208) 313-4166 or for ticket information.


The Partnership for Science and Technology is a nonprofit, grassroots organization formed to advocate for science and technology issues that are in the public interest and to provide accurate and timely information on existing and proposed activities at the INL Site and the region. For more information contact Lane Allgood, Executive Director at (208) 313-4166, or log on to the web-site.

# # #

No comments: